Mangolicious!

Standard

Whenever I think of mangoes, my mouth waters. Indians have a special love for this seasonal summer fruit, and we often wait all through the year to grab a few of these. Growing up, I could not control myself while eating this fruit and often ate up everyone’s share at home, so my mom had to restrict me to eating a few only at one go. So I opted for a better way to eat mangoes. I started making dishes and desserts out of them, where I could use mangoes sparsely or sufficiently along with a whole bunch of other ingredients. This turned out much more reliable than eating the fruit raw, which however, is still my favorite.

A few weeks back, I ran out of dessert options as I invited some close friends over for dinner. As I hovered through the grocery store searching for what to buy, my eyes feel on the irresistible fruit. There, I knew my answer lay right in front. Mango also being my husband’s pick, and he being from Mumbai, was introduced to me in the form sweetened mango yogurt, or aamrakhand as said in Hindi. It is a Maharashtrian delicacy, super easy to make, and whips up in no time.Image

Along with dollops of love my hubby’s eyes showered on me for making his dearest recipe, I used four basic ingredients to make this dessert. They are:

  1.  2 cups hung yogurt (you can make this by tying up normal yogurt in a muslin cloth and hanging it over the sink for a few hours to let all the water drain out. I however, am the lazy sort, and bought the greek non fat strained yogurt from the store.
  2. 1 can of mango puree normally available at all stores. You can also ripe mangoes to make a puree out of them, which gives a better taste.
  3. 1 cup granulated sugar. You can adjust the sugar portions according to your taste. If you want to avoid sugar, you can use honey and condensed milk together.
  4. 1 teaspoon of cardamom powder for flavor.

 The method to make this dessert is actually the easiest. You put all these four ingredients in a deep big bowl and whip it using a    hand blender. The smoothness and consistency of the mixture depends on how well you mix it, so make sure you give it some time. Once it is  all in one place, u can fill up ramekins or dessert bowls with this mixture. Then leave it in the refrigerator for around 3 hours to set.  After it is set, garnish with some blanched almond shavings.

This dessert is equally enjoyed by kids and adults. The smoothness of the mango simply melts in your mouth leaving a sweet aftereffect. You can garnish this with chocolate sauce, fresh fruits and cream, biscuit crumbles or mixed nuts. Or it tastes heavenly even if eaten just plain. Whichever way you eat, lick it clean, Mangolicious it is!

About ishanisen

Simple and candid, writing is what I can do best, at any point in life. Rather, writing is what gives me the ultimate kick. An ex content/freelance writer by profession, and at present searching for what I really want to do in life, this blog is a reflection of my thoughts, and understanding the world a little better. Other than writing, I like to travel and read, and do just about anything which makes me happy. Apart from writing, singing, listening to any kind of music, travelling to different places whenever I get the chance to, baking, and reading up on mostly everything which catches my eye are things which give me pleasure. I try not to think too hard about life in general, and rather believe in taking it as it comes. It has worked for me this way, and I like to keep it simple and carefree as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

